DUI With Injury in San Diego
California law takes a DUI with an injury very seriously because of the personal and public risk of your actions. A DUI with injury charge is pursued to the full extent of the law. A DUI involving an injury is typically prosecuted as a felony and can include significant jail time, fines, loss of all driving privileges, and restitution owed to the party injured. Insurance costs & loss of employment opportunities are also at risk.
- Possible penalties for a DUI conviction
The state and federal fines can be as low as $390 and as high as $5,000. The $390 cost may seem low but multiple fees are attached to it such as a $1,000 fee in penalty assessments with a sign-up for a $500 alcohol and drug program. However, second-time offenders and those who commit DUI felonies may even be coerced into providing fees higher than $10,000. Along with governmental fines, the offender also owes restitution to the injured party or parties.
Prison Sentences and other punishment
Jail time for a misdemeanor DUI with injury can be as minimal as five days and nights to 1 year in jail, depending on the county, the entire case, and the total amount put in on bail. Along with jail time, first-time offenders experience what’s known as everyday probation or “summary” that can go on for 3 to 5 years, before the offender can get full automobile privileges again. In the most severe occurrences, those convicted must wait for three years before using a mechanized vehicle. Some first-time and most second-time offenders are pressured to put on with a “Lookback” period where one must wait out about ten years before acquiring full driving privileges again. Such a sentence is usually given to multiple-time offenders, as traveling while impaired situations are believed as “priorable,” and therefore the punitive damage in conditions of money and time increase with an increase of convictions.
Alongside the jail time, overview period, and Lookback period, those convicted must undergo an alcohol consumption education program at the California drunk driving institution.
You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to contact the DMV for hearing. We can do this for you.
The possible legal punishment for a DUI with injury is usually severe; however, the degree of the severity depends on your defense attorney. If you or a loved one Have been charged with a DUI Involving an Injury in San Diego. The one action that can help you get a favorable outcome is to hire a competent and competitively priced DUI attorney. You should look for a DUI lawyer that is specialized in DUI and criminal defense and has an impressive record of successfully defending DUI cases. After considering the competence and specialty of a lawyer, you should also check his/her fees. The fines associated with a DUI with injury are humungous; consequently, it will be more burdensome to hire a lawyer who will charge you more than the court fines. Liberty Lawyers place a huge value on freedom and we will make every effort possible to ensure that you gain freedom or get the best judgment possible. We have knowledgeable, compassionate DUI Attorneys with over 25 years experience defending DUI’s involving an injury.
Choosing the best San Diego DUI Lawyer is too important of a decision to hire just anyone. Especially When an Injury is involved in the DUI Case. We understand the gravity of such charges, and the emotional pressure that you’re now facing. We would be happy to ease your burden, You can talk to us by calling (619) 383-2931 Now. There is an experienced DUI attorney available 24 hours a day, 7 days week to discuss your situation and give you legal advice.
With thousands of DUI victories in San Diego under our belt and 25 years of building extensive courtroom relationships, we can have a significant impact on the outcome of your DUI charge involving an injury. Call us immediately at (619) 383-2931 and take advantage of our FREE, confidential consultation with our experienced San Diego DUI lawyer.
DUI Case Results:
- Third DUI within 5 years
- Charges reduced, $500 fine, no jail, no license suspension!
- Reduced to simple reckless driving!
- DUI Causing serious injury
- NO JAIL
- DMV Hearings
- Client has BAC of .28% and at DMV hearing the suspension was set aside
All of your rights will be protected, and we will NOT stop until we have secured your freedom and gotten you the BEST possible outcome!
Call us 24/7 For A Free Consultation